iPhone Tutorial: Upload and share your favourite photos with Flickr

Flickr's awesome iPhone app lets you shoot and upload photos and videos while away from the desktop. Here's a quick guide to making the most of it.


The growth of social networking has led to a sharp increase in the popularity of photo sharing over the last few years.
Flickr is arguably the most well-known of the services, and this image and video hosting website now hosts more than four billion images. As well as being a popular site for users to share and embed personal snapshots, the service is widely used by bloggers to host images that they embed in blogs and social media.

If you’re a Flickr user, an iPhone app that connects to the site is a natural extension. The official Flickr app lets you do this and a whole lot more. The most notable feature of the app is the ability to upload images to your account. Whether you choose to take a snapshot with your iPhone’s camera or select an existing image from your photo library, uploading is effortless. As a bonus, you can geotag each shot with your current location, add it to a set and assign a level of privacy. iPhone 4 users will be pleased that the app supports HD video uploads and multitasking. This means that your photos will continue to upload in the background while you are performing other tasks.

Step 1: Flickr
Download and install the Flickr app; when you open it, you will see a slideshow that displays images from the site. Now log in to your account.

Step 2: Sign in
Tap on Recent, You or Contacts and you’ll go to a one-time authorisation that opens in Safari. Sign in using your Yahoo! ID username and password.

Step 3: Authorise
Tap the OK, I’ll Authorize It button and you will have instant access to your Flickr account. You can now perform a range of tasks.

Step 4: Upload
Now upload an image: tap the upload icon (top-right) and select Upload from Library. Browse until you find an image and enter a name.

Step 5: Geotag
You can geotag your image by enabling Tag Current Location. Do this and select a privacy level. Tap Upload and it will be uploaded to your account.

Step 6: View image
Tap You to view your collection of photos and you will now see the latest snapshot. You can add a comment, assign it to a set or share it via email.